Leave a comment

The Voice of Truth

I had no idea until today that yesterday 14th September marked 8 months since I arrived in South Africa. That’s all good as I celebrated in style without realising – a weekend in Gordons Bay visiting friends and for Urban Voice – Gordons Bay launch and then  Worshippers Arise Concert at UWC – Bellville where Noel Robinson – an international worship leader performed  and I get to catch up my favourite Premier Gospel presenter and friend Ibe ‘GiantKiller’ Otah.

2014-09-14 11.06.36

advert

Noel Robinson

2014-09-14 20.17.19

 Someone mentioned this weekend that based on my Facebook postings I’m a socialite. I can honestly say that if I appear to be one, it’s because God is divinely connecting me to various people. I would rather stay in my bed and read a good book which I haven’t been able to do due to my social activities.

 I am in a worship mood today after last night performance and as I reflect on the lyrics of a few songs, this one especially – ‘The Voice of Truth’ by Casting Crown is so relevant to my journey.

Using the lyrics from this song;

Eight months ago I decided to exercise the kind of faith it takes to climb out of the boat, to step out of my comfort zone into the realm of the unknown and to further explore my vocation. I truly believed then that South Africa – the realm of the unknown was where Jesus wanted me to be and he would be holding my hand and I still do, but I must confess that there have been some crashing waves and as I am no surfer, only possessing a beginner’s certificate in swimming, there were times of struggle. Thankfully, I didn’t drown and somehow by the grace of God along with the encouragement and support from friends I manage to keep afloat, persevere and keep going.

I was reminded of the times I’ve tried and failed, my past mistakes, even heard voices telling me ‘That I am crazy’, ‘I’ll never win’ , ‘Just go back home.’

But the voice of truth tells me a different story

 And the voice of truth says “Do not be afraid!”

 And the voice of truth says “This is for My glory”

 Out of all the voices calling out to me

 I will choose to listen and believe the voice of truth

Like the words in the song, I am praying for the kind of strength it takes to stand before a giant with just a sling and a stone. Surrounded by the sound of a thousand warriors shaking in their armour, wishing they’d have had the strength to stand.

Yesterday as I connected with my friend Ibe ‘GiantKiller’ Otah . I asked someone to take a photo of us, saying that I wanted some of his ‘GiantKiller’ spirit to rub off on me. How ironic? I not only received some ‘GiantKiller’ spirit but I was also encouraged by Noel Robinson to evoke the spirit of worship in me.

2014-09-14 20.48.44

Arise, shine, for your light has come, and the glory of the LORD rises upon you (Isaiah 60:1)

2014-09-14 20.58.21

Me & Noel Robinson 2014-09-14 21.02.29

The giants may call out my name and even laugh at me but I choose to listen and believe the voice of truth. My past is not what defines me. My future is in God’s hands.

Jeremiah 29:11 states For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

Whatever God has given me is enough to accomplish whatever plans He has in store for me. I keep telling myself ‘only 4 months’ to go but I am trusting God for clarity and direction. Proverbs 19: 20 tells us “You can make many plans, but the LORD’s purpose will prevail.”

Yesterday at Urban Voice – Gordons Bay, Wesley Van Graan spoke on John 8: 1 – 11 ( the woman  caught in the act of adultery)  He asked members of his team to hand out stones of various sizes to the congregation. Not to stone him of course but to keep as a reminder that no one is perfect.

2014-09-14 10.01.42

I actually carved these words on the stone as a reminder along with the scripture reference 1 John 1:9. If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness.

2014-09-15 15.05.11

Though we are not perfect we serve a merciful God who is willing to forgive our sins and in the process we are commanded to forgive others as well.

2014-09-15 15.05.23

Allow me to take a different slant on this stone analogy and in relation to my journey here. I’ve come to realise that God has placed in my hand the right size stone to keep the giants down and the crashing waves don’t seem so high anymore as my beginner’s certificate in swimming is enough to keep me afloat. God has placed me here by no accident and He has made provision and equipped me as promised with everything I need even if at times it doesn’t feel like it.

I choose to wait patiently for the Lord. As I do, He promise to renew my strength  and as a result I will mount up with wings as eagles; run and not be weary; walk and not grow  faint. (Isaiah 40:31)

Zephaniah 3:17 (NIV) states “ The LORD your God is with you, he is mighty to save. He will take great delight in you, he will quiet you with his love, he will rejoice over you with singing.”

I will keep persevering.

I’ll devote myself to what God has called me to do.

I will only stop to listen to him singing over me with his love.

I will only listen to  and believe the voice of truth.

Cause Jesus you are the voice of truth.

Click on the link  to listen to the song. The Voice of Truth by Casting Crowns

Leave a Reply

