2 Comments

A Tribute to Robin Williams

I am saddened by the news of the death of Robin Williams, so much so I am not sure where to start. My earliest recollection of Robin was in 1979, at age 12 when I was a student of St. Hilda’s Diocesan High School for Girls in Brown’s Town, Jamaica. I was introduced to the TV show by my boyfriend ( if that’s what you would call it then), a Canadian – yes I have always been international. We would spend days watching various episodes, pretending that he was Mork and I was Mindy. We were different and we found comfort in each other’s company.

Mork (played by Robin Williams) is a wacky alien who comes to earth to study its residents, and the life of the human woman (Mindy) he boards with is never the same. He made many people laugh and so did Robin Williams in his numerous roles – Mrs Doubt Fire, Good Morning Vietnam to name a few.

Mork & Mindy

In 1981 My Mom decided it was best to transfer me from a girls school to a co-educational in the heart of Spanish Town. I lost my Mork to a different species of aliens I didn’t understand, called St. Catherine High School boys.I was never the same again:-)

All joking aside, it is sad that a man who seem to have it all, who impacted so many lives, made so many people laugh ended up with a heavy heart and decided to take his life. Maybe all this time he was laughing on the outside but dying inside. Maybe we expected too much from him with the constant demands of ‘Please make us laugh’. Maybe he just needed a Mindy to listen to him – to make him laugh. Maybe we didn’t know how to separate the person from the role he played. Maybe he was after all only human.

I will always cherish the memories of Mork, Robin Williams, St Hilda’s and Ashley. Such a shame!  Mindy and the world has lost their cherished alien – human.

Robin, May your soul rest in peace. Nanu Nanu.

220px-Robin_Williams_2011a_(2)

Robin McLaurin Williams

Born: 21 Jul 1951 · Chicago, Illinois

Died: 11 Aug 2014

2 comments on “A Tribute to Robin Williams

  1. Robin as Mork did a skit on the seven deadly sins.
    Do you have any idea where I can find it?
    Thank you
    Joe

Leave a Reply

