Leave a comment

Peace…Real Peace

 “Do not let your hearts be troubled. You believe in God[a]; believe also in me. My Father’s house has many rooms; if that were not so, would I have told you that I am going there to prepare a place for you? And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am.  You know the way to the place where I am going.” (John 14: 1 – 4)

If you are like Thomas who said “Lord, we don’t know where you are going, so how can we know the way?” Jesus answered “ I am the WAY, the TRUTH and the LIFE. No one comes to the Father except through me. If you really know me you would know the Father.”

Not only has Jesus gone to prepare a place for us – a permanent, not a temporary place – an eternal place, not made of bricks and mortar –  where we will spend eternity with Him but He has reassured us of peace through the Holy Spirit the Comforter.

“Peace I leave with you. My peace I give unto you. I do not give as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled. Do not be afraid.”

peacerealpeace

God has promised us real peace. You only have to trust Him by accepting him as your Father – the Way, the Truth and the Life. This peace I am referring to is far more wonderful than human mind can understand. Jesus really wants to have this peace and this is evident by the amount of references in the bible on his promise of peace. He is our rock and salvation and we can rest in Him. His peace will keep your thoughts and your hearts quiet and at rest.(Phil 4:7)  Therefore being justified by faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ (Romans 8:6 KJV)

Isaiah 26:3 also states “You will keep in perfect peace those whose minds are steadfast because they trust in you. Trust in the Lord forever, for the Lord himself, is the Rock eternal.”

C.S Lewis states “God cannot give us happiness and peace apart from Himself, because it is not there. There is no such thing. Confirming what Paul states in Philippians 4: 7 “I do not give as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled. Do not be afraid.”

Life from the Centre is a life of unhurried peace and power. It is simple. It is serene…We need not get frantic. He is at the helm. And when our little day is done, we lie down quietly in peace, for all is well. [Thomas R Kelly]

So let God’s peace infuse every part of your day today. As the chaos swirls and life’s demands pull on all sides, breathe in God’s perfect peace that surpasses all understanding. He has promised that He would set within you a peace too deeply planted to be affected by unexpected or exhausting demands.

 I am leaving you a gift – peace of mind and heart. And the peace I give is a gift the world cannot give. So don’t be troubled or afraid (John 14: 27 NLT)

 

Calm me, O Lord, as you stilled the storm,

Still me, O Lord, keep me from harm,

Let all the tumult within me cease

Enfold me, Lord, in your peace.[Celtic Prayer]

Leave a Reply

