Leave a comment

“Responsible Giving Initiative”

Wednesday is the highlight of my week. Why?

I help to feed 200-300 homeless people at the Dutch Reformed Church on Kloof Street via the Bread 4 Life Ministry.

Jesus replied, “I am the bread of life. Whoever comes to me will never be hungry again. (John 6:35)

It’s awesome  how God can use a bunch of homeless people to make you feel at home. The joyous worship coming from this group of amazing people is something to experience. I marvel at their request for the opportunity to sing more worship songs; the clapping of hands and dancing that emerge out of those who do not have a place to lay their head, a place to call home. I  was humbled.

bread4life2

Apart from the worship, there is the powerful prayer time before worship and eating; the love and unity that flows from the group; the heart and passion of the volunteers as they hand out meals, socks, drinks to these men, women and children. Today I had the great opportunity to meet Johnny, the founder, and experience his heart for his ministry. I was so encouraged and blessed by him. Artemis is an amazing woman with a big heart for the poor. She minister to them in prayer, encouraging them with a word, walking amongst them, touching them, connecting with them as Jesus would. Some even brought her flowers.

Today was truly a blessing and it started with just a few words from a friend……..

“Stay hungry. Stay Foolish. Focus on the things you can change”

The Apostle Paul states in 1 Corinthians 1:27, Instead, God chose things the world considers foolish in order to shame those who think they are wise. And he chose things that are powerless to shame those who are powerful.

He can even use the homeless to make you feel at home.

I was feeling so blessed that I had no reason not to dance as I listened to some worship music in my room.

 

Leave a Reply

