Leave a comment

The Angels of the YW – Cape Town

6073233-angel-with-heart-vector-illustration

For he will order his angels
    to protect you wherever you go.

Psalm 91: 11 NLT

 

Written on 29 – 30/05/2014
I have cold and flu symptoms this week and I must confess I am the most pathetic person when I am ill. This is when I take vulnerability to the extreme, basically I need my Mother; lots of TLC  even if it is a common cold. I’m usually proclaiming that I am dying – well it really feels like it plus my brain feels like it has actually stopped working.

I was lying in bed this morning trying to muster up the energy to get up and make myself a cup of tea in order to help to quell the coughing. I could hardly manage to move and I thought,  Lord, this is why you need to find me a husband to make me a cup of tea when I am ill.

I told you I am pathetic when I am ill. This was followed by thoughts of nobody cares for me and so I turned on the radio to listen to Jeremy van Wyk on CCFM 9-12 show. I also opened my journal to pray for someone as I felt it would be a good remedy for my soul and sorry state of mind. I then managed to muster up some energy to make a cup of  rooibos tea, some microwave Pro-Nutro and broke a drinking glass in the process.
Then I heard a knock on the door; coughing I opened the door to find Lorraine – Manager of the YW handing me a box of Lozenges and Vitamin C. She had driven from home as she was off duty to bring me some medicine!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

 

This was answered prayers. I told her about my earlier thoughts and prayer and that God had sent me an angel. She went on further to ask other members of staff to check on me, returning to let me know that they will be doing so. How amazing was this? How amazing is God!

Jeanetta is one of the members of staff at the YW. She is a woman of prayer who is so in tune with the Holy Spirit. She provides my bale of towels every day and make sure my flat is clean and that I have everything. I pray with her at times and we can see God definitely moving after praying. Jeanetta also knocked at my flat, handing me my bale of towels and to check if I needed anything, mentioning rooibos tea, rusks, fruit and promising to return at lunchtime.

Sharon makes sure everything is kept in order and provides us with clean linens. I am not sure what Sharon doesn’t do at the YW. She is a silent angel.

While writing my monthly blog entitled ‘The Challenges of Mission – Steeping yourself in God-Reality’, which I will post soon, I was thinking how blessed I am to be at the YW – Cape Town. The YW provides stability both physically and spirituality while I adjust to South Africa.

George Muller states;

 We have a Father in heaven who is almighty, who loves His children as He loves His only begotten Son, and whose very joy and delight is to….help them at all times and under all circumstances.

Later  that evening I was prayed for by a young and powerful evangelist Michelle ( a resident at the YW) who is here on an internship with Hill Song. She proclaimed healing over my life and I am feeling much better today.

Michelle

I was able to walk to halfway down Kloof Street to Checkers to get some shopping. Not one of my favourite past-time. I strongly believe that shopping should be delivered. Anyway,  I returned to find my room all cleaned and lookingbeautiful – all Jeanettea’s doing. She even did my washing up and left me a vase with a single rose. I have never come across such a woman who is able to make her job such a ministry of showing God’s love. It’s such a joy to hear her voice in the morning as she does her daily rounds. When I think of Jeanetta, I am reminded of Brother Lawrence – a Carmelite lay brother who was assigned to the monastery kitchen where, amidst the tedious chores of cooking and cleaning at the constant bidding of his superiors, he developed his rule of spirituality and work. For Brother Lawrence, “common business,” no matter how mundane or routine, could be a medium of God’s love.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESSAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

God is with us in the midst of our daily, routine lives. In the middle of cleaning the house and driving the car, assisting someone who is ill. There can be no “ordinary” moments for people who live their lives for Jesus. What is sacred is hidden in the ordinary everyday moments of our lives.

In our weakness we allow God to be strong and he uses his angels  in heaven and on earth to assist him in carrying out his work. And even if he didn’t provide an instant husband,  he has used the Angels of the YW to answer my prayer and provide me with the TLC I needed.

CCFM2
I was moved by this song  by Yolanda Adams ‘I’m gonna be ready’. I heard this  on CCFM and I think this is very relevant for me and my time here in SA. The presenter Jeremy van Wyk  On CCFM was also paying tribute to the late and great Dr. Maya Angelou and all the strong and inspirational women. I had to smile and think strong.

Sight beyond what I see
You know what’s best for me
Prepare my mind, prepare my heart
For whatever comes, I’m gone’ be ready

Strength to pass any test
I feel like I’m so blessed
With you in control, I can’t go wrong
‘Cause I always know, I’m gonna be ready

The YouTube Link is below. Enjoy!:-)

I’m Gonna Be Ready

 

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

