Leave a comment

The Little Things about Cape Town

Written on 19th May 2014

 

Someone once told me that Cape Town is not a city, it’s a village and I am likely to agree.
I love the greetings from familiar faces as I walked from Kloof Street into town. Sybil from the Slug and Lettuce pub, the guy from Knead, and as I turned into Long Street to St Georges Mall, there are the guys at Motherland and this amazing Zim girl called Bianca from Doppio who always have a smile on her face and runs out from the restaurant to give me a big hug. She is priceless! I had to ask God to bless her today. On entering Food Lover’s market I seemed to be known by most if not all of the security guards and cashiers, probably due to the amount of avocados I consumed each week. These are the little things I will cherish and will never forget about Cape Town.

Last Wednesday I took my longest mini bus taxi ride to Century City. I was a bit scared of taking this option as a means of transport but I was told it would take 2 hrs. via the MiCiti bus. Even though my appointment was at 2pm, I decided to opt for this option, catching the local taxi around 8am with 5 ladies from the YW who are on an internship program with Hill Song. My strategy was to spend at least 4 hrs. browsing Canal Walk (a major shopping complex) and I can assure you that 4 hours was not enough.

I really felt that morning that I should bless these young ladies by paying their taxi fare downtown seeing that they were in effect my body guards on this new adventure. We were the only ones in the taxi from Kloof Street to downtown Cape Town. On paying the fare I said ‘I really felt I need to bless you guys today as I am expecting a blessing’ The driver on hearing my comment responded, saying he has been feeling so despondent this week as no blessing seem to be coming his way. He is tired of giving and not receiving. Incidentally he is a member of Hill Song. We assured him with some encouraging words and that we would pray for him. The young ladies then asked me ‘Why don’t you pray now’. Well I’ve never prayed in a taxi and I must confess I hesitated but on realising the openness of this driver for prayer I accepted my role as minister for that day and prayed. He was so encouraged and we parted with encouraging words of blessings assuring him we would continue to pray.
That evening I really felt I should include Luke 6:38 in my prayer which 2 of the ladies have developed a little worship dance to. They are so funny.

Today as I emerged from the MiCiti bus at the top of Kloof Street a taxi tooted at me as usual asking if I am going downtown. The driver recognised me as I turned to respond and shouted ‘Hello my sister’ and then I recognised him along with the conductor. I asked if things have changed for them this week, and beaming with a smile they both said yes and thanked me. I assured them that we were still praying for them.

I was moved last Wednesday by this encounter –praying in the taxi and how a few words can spark a conversation and change someone’s day, life. I had so many reservations about travelling in a local taxi but after this it dawned on me how God can change any situation for the good.
I am thankful to the American ladies as I would have never found my way downtown to Grand Parade to catch the bus and realised while sitting in the taxi how much it reminded me of downtown Kingston a place I would never venture on my own but it felt like home.
Gad surely does things in mysterious ways. It’s as if this ride was ordained as the only other passenger we picked up en route was his son. As he introduced us he told us how his mother must spend at least 90% of her prayer time praying for them both. We reminded him of the power of a praying mother, the faith of Abraham and David and how his blessing and hard work may come through his son – the next generation. Now we have a special local taxi to travel in downtown. I also realise I had encounter this taxi driver once before when I walked out of his taxi because I was inpatient. I’m thankful he didn’t remember that incident, as God used me a few weeks later to pray for him.

A lady in Spitz (shoe shop) asked me today why I was in Cape Town as she noticed my Jamaican T-Shirt I was wearing. “Didn’t you find it difficult getting adjusted?” she asked. I smiled and told her yes it was difficult at first but I decided a few weeks ago that I could either keep complaining or enjoy the time I have here…”And you chose the latter”, she said. My response was yes! We parted smiling.
I remember complaining about the bad customer service in South Africa, now these sales assistances, security guards, baristas, cashiers, waiters and waitresses, minivan taxi driver have become my counsellors and encourager. These are the people who make Cape Town special!

If you to be a friend, you have to show yourself friendly Proverbs 18: 24 states;

“A man that hath friends must shew himself friendly: and there is a friend that sticketh closer than a brother.”

There is something about the aura you gives off.

Last week/end was the greatest ever in Cape Town. I’m expectant of more blessings upon blessings.

give2

Here’s another little thing about Cape Town – bought cut flowers do last longer.  In everything be thankful – even in the little things.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

 

Mission TO SA

Leave a Reply

