Leave a comment

Two Things..

Two things happened this week that made me realise that my work is not in vain. Surprisingly I came across two people, one was a past client who happily shared with me the result of something we laboured and prayed for in the counselling room, the other was a long last friend who shared the result of an experience years ago before I even ventured into the UK.

These two things encouraged me and reminded me that our work –  a mere encouragement, a small act of kindness is not in vain. I felt so proud to be part of the journey of these two people.

Paul encouraged the Corinthians with these words “Therefore, my dear brothers and sisters, stand firm. Let nothing move you. Always give yourselves fully to the work of the Lord, because you know that your labor in the Lord is not in vain.” (1 Cor. 15: 58)

images

And again in Philippians 1:6 in his prayer and thanksgiving for his brothers and sisters in Philippi he reminded them and us “…that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.”

My grandmother always cautioned us ‘Be careful how you treat strangers, you never know, you may be entertaining angels’ Hospitality was a big thing in our family. I’m sure she had intended to quote Hebrews 13: 2 “Do not forget to show hospitality to strangers, for by so doing some people have shown hospitality to angels without knowing it.”

modern-day-good-samaritan

These two things brought comfort to my soul, boosted my confidence, and reminded me of the proclamation of  David in Psalm 71: 21 “You will increase my honor and comfort me once more.”
This verse was given to me as encouragement by a friend from The London School of Theology on learning of a certain predicament I encountered while studying there.

As for me, I will always have hope; I will praise you more and more.
My mouth will tell of your righteous deeds, of your saving acts all day long—though I know not how to relate them all.  I will come and proclaim your mighty acts, Sovereign Lord;  I will proclaim your righteous deeds, yours alone.  Since my youth, God, you have taught me, and to this day I declare your marvelous deeds.  Even when I am old and gray, do not forsake me, my God, till I declare your power to the next generation, your mighty acts to all who are to come.

 Your righteousness, God, reaches to the heavens, you who have done great things. Who is like you, God?  Though you have made me see troubles, many and bitter, you will restore my life again; from the depths of the earth you will again bring me up.
You will increase my honor and comfort me once more.  (Psalm 71; 14 – 21)

flowers

May you increase my greatness Lord and turn to comfort me. Amen

Leave a Reply

