Leave a comment

Sow wisely – Aims 2010 and beyond…

Recently I’ve been reading through my old journals and I came across this list of aims for 2010. I thought it might be a good idea to re-write these as a reminder of what I probably asked God for and that I am still working on some of these. Here we go;

  • Desire to change my life and bring it more fully in conformity to God’s will.
  • See God as my beloved spouse – develop intimacy with Him so that God becomes an active partner not a distracted observer.
  • Explore and experience different forms of prayer.
  • Ask God for and develop the grace to pray and read the Bible more frequently.
  • Devote myself more deeply to the interior life – embarking on an inner journey tht leads to God.
  • Have respect and understanding of God – fear God.
  • Develop a love and understanding of suffering and see God’s will through this.
  • Develop uncommon humility.
  • Develop healthy attachments
  • Detach myself from worldly pleasures and have the desire to grow in the virtues of God.
  • Be One with God
  • Develop self knowledge and growth.
  • Develop the gift of discernment.
  • Not to be ruled by or focus on the external noise but be influenced by and focus on the interior.
  • Move from stubborness , self agrandisation, false responsibily – independence and pride to Godly humility.
  • Allow God to speak through my soul.
  • Be in union with Christ , hearing and experiencing Him more fully.
  • Develop and practise obedience, deeping my relationship with God.
  • Rise above the challenges of this world and transform it!
  • Persevere and rely on God’s strength.

As I re-write these aims and I most likely prayed about these as well, my only response is Yikes!!! Desires! be careful what you ask for! So now I have an explanation for all the workings in my life over the past two years:-)

My aim was and still is to be mature in Christ. This reminds me of the parable of the sower (Luke 8:1-18) of which I will only quote verse 14-15, you can read the rest.

“The seed that fell among thorns stands for those who hear, but as they go on their way they are choked by life’s worries, riches and pleasures, and they do not mature. But the seed on good soil stands for those with a noble and good heart, who hear the word, retain it, and by persevering produce a crop.”

My desire still is to invest and sow wisely so that I may reap a bountiful harvest!:-)

So here  I bravely go again….

A Covenant with God

‘I am no longer my own but yours.

Put me to what you will,

rank me with whom you will;

put me to doing,

put me to suffering;

let me be employed for you,

exalted for you,

or brought low for you,

let me be full,

let me be empty,

let me have all things,

let me have nothing:

I freely and wholeheartedly yields all things

to your pleasure and disposal.

And now, glorious and blessed God,

Father, Son and Holy Spirit

you are mine and I am yours.’

Bless U.

K

Leave a Reply

