Leave a comment

The Visitor

I suppose I never expected him to turn up. But his knock at the door was surprisingly welcome. I answered the door and welcomed him in, I sat on my sofa called fear, hoping he would not see the boxes behind it.

Over the years I had collected boxes behind that sofa, bullying when I was younger, rejection, pain, They were all there hidden, he just smiled. He sat on a chair called love.

“So”, he said, “do you like sitting there?”
“It’s all I really know”
“You could sit here, but you would have to leave your fear”
“Where will you sit?” I asked
He did not speak
He just walked over and took my hand
He led me to the love chair
I sat down, I felt very exposed
He walked over to my fear sofa and started pushing it towards the door, “but” I said, he just kept pushing, then he started taking each box, one by one, as he did it seemed as if he was bearing up the pain of each box.

Then he left for a moment and returned with an old wooden cross which he laid where the sofa had been. I understood.

Then he noticed the rainbow colours of my walls that had become clear and bright as he had removed the boxes and sofa.

“Your Walls are nice”
“Thankyou, to be honest I thought you would not like them”
“No, he said, I designed the rainbow”

then he left, but he was still there
Here I am! I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in and eat with that person, and they with me. Rev 3:20

(Paul Clevett – Gay Christian http://imagaybloke.wordpress.com/poems-thoughts/)

 

Leave a Reply

