Leave a comment

Love on a plate.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

“And when he had given thanks, he broke it and said, “This is my body, which is for you; do this in remembrance of me.” 25 In the same way, after supper he took the cup, saying, “This cup is the new covenant in my blood; do this, whenever you drink it, in remembrance of me.” 1 Corinthians 11: 24-26 (NIV)

After my visit to Cork in August 2011 for the John Main Seminar and a pilgrimage climbing Skelig Michael, over 700 steps to the top where the medieval monks used  live I then spent two well- deserved restful days in a Dominican retreat centre – Ennismore, which is just outside the Cork centre. I was not only moved by its beautiful landscaped gardens with floral varieties from all around the world but by the high quality of food that came out of the kitchen. I was so impressed by the meal that I asked to see the chef to personally thanked her. She was from Africa and in thanking I described her meal as ‘love presented to you on a plate’. I went on to write about the whole experience of Ennismore – not only the food!

One thing my Mom is remembered for is her cooking. From the voices of family in Jamaica, Nigeria, America and the UK we hear the cry ‘We miss Aunty Mommy (as she was so fondly called) cooking’. We marvelled as to why we cannot find cooking as good as hers and recently my sister questioned ‘What did she put in her meals?’ I missed her cooking so much I even prayed for her skills but I guess I have it anyway, being blessed with a Mom who was a reknown  Michelin star chef catering for a worldwide family and a Dad who owns a restaurant with Uncles who are master chefs in their own right.

Recently someone asked me,  “What did you put in this soup?”.  My response was ‘You cannot duplicate the taste of my cooking as I put in my love, my soul – as my sister puts it ‘This is soul food!

In my quiet time this morning I began to think about one of the greatest gift/legacy that Christ has left with us – The Communion. I was also trying to reconcile/understand what the Catholics and Anglo-Catholics may mean by seeing the Communion act as being transformed into the blood and body of Christ. Then I came up with this thought.

The Communion is a meal presented to us which embodies Christ love and his soul. When we eat the bread and drink of the cup we are not only remembering we are experiencing and partaking of his body, his blood presented to us as love on a plate.

This is my body, broken for you.

Do this to remember me.

After supper, he did the same thing with the cup:

This cup is my blood, my new covenant with you.

Each time you drink this cup, remember me.

What you must solemnly realize is that every time you eat this bread and every time you drink this cup, you re-enact in your words and actions the death of the Master. You will be drawn back to this meal again and again until the Master returns. 1 Corinthians  11: 24-26 (MSG)

I hope I have not messed up your theology with my cooking!:-)

Have a blessed day.

K

Leave a Reply

