Leave a comment

Love that just won’t let me go

by Karen Roach on Thursday, March 24, 2011 at 10:11am

Father, your love compels me

Screaming like a child

if anything

anyone tries

to separate me from my God

You captured my heart

from childhood

those innocent prayers;

trusting without being able to

make sense of your presence

Your reassurance in times

of need

You arms around me

in times of loneliness

Reminding me that

I am special,

when I didn’t

feel wanted

that I am your child

You are my Father

And as I try to search for meaning

at times losing my way

You constantly pursue me

reminding me of my first love

waiting for your child to come home

Sending others to minister

to me in my carnality

Proclaiming that your

love for me still remain

welcoming me back

into a relationship with you.

And like the prodigal daughter

I come crying, running

into my Father’s arm

As the years goes by

you watch me grow,

pruning, preparing me

for this great plan you have

in store for me

And during the times

when I run and hide

when you try to elevate me

to your original plan

Your outstretch arms

beckons me back

Holding me tightly

in your arms,

during the pain,

the struggles,

the mistakes,

the uncertainties,

the wrestling with doubt

Your love compels me

Reminding me that

I am your child.

And that you love me

Unconditionally

Lord, you just won’t

Let me go…….:-)

For I know the plans I have for you,” says the LORD. “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope. [Jer 29:11 – NLT]

And I am sure of this, that he who began a good work in you will bring it to completion at the day of Jesus Christ. (Phil 1:6 – ESV)

You hem me in—behind and before; you have laid your hand upon me. Such knowledge is too wonderful for me, too lofty for me to attain. Where can I go from your Spirit? Where can I flee from your presence? (Psalm 139: 5-7)

Leave a Reply

